HEY! Homeschool Moms who also Work at Home!

Don’t miss this book!

20418526Working at home while raising kids and juggling a career and family responsibilities is no easy feat. Author and homeschooling mom Tricia Goyer shares her tips for finding balance among all your many hats as a mom.

I follow Tricia Goyer on Facebook and twitter and her blog and I LOVE her books!

And I must admit that I too – wonder how she does all that she does – or I did, until I read this book.

Yes, she talks about more than just Home-schooling and work – but the rest of it goes hand in hand in my opinion, so it’s just an all around great resource!

I reviewed this book over on my book blog and I’m going to sound a bit like a broken record here but I want to make sure everyone sees this next bit.

Tricia makes a point of saying that this book may not be for everyone.

“Disclaimer. This book may not be for you if: You are looking for a simple how-to manual with only schedules, outlines, and agendas. You don’t think your spiritual life impacts your work and home life. You think the whole balance issue depends on you and not on your dependence on God.

In this book, there is as much inner work I’m going to talk about as there are ideas, helps, and tips for balancing. Because as someone who’s been working at home nearly all of my twenty-four years as a parent, I’ve discovered three main things:

  1. What I do isn’t as important as who I am.
  2. What God can do in my life and what He’s capable of doing can be two very different things—I don’t want to limit Him.
  3. My outward goals are only reachable if I submit my inward soul to God.

If this sounds like a book you need, good. If not, I understand! We moms only have so much time. You need to spend your time, energy, and hard-earned money on a book that will meet your expectations.

Know that I’m praying God will speak to your heart through my story. I hope you’ll discover good advice to help you follow the dreams God has placed in your heart and be the wife and mom you’ve always wanted to be.” – Direct quote from Tricia Goyer (Balanced: Finding Center as a Work-at-Home Mom)

I really respect her for that. It takes a lot of courage and faith to present women with a reason they should not buy your book – and then to tell them you’re OK with it.

And Tricia and I have a lot of different ideas on how a person should carry out their faith but they stem from the same ideals. Each Christian really does need to understand that they have a very different journey. Your walk with God is a very personal thing and what God calls one to do – he may not call another to. The point is this – I can see Tricia’s faith in every word. She may go about her faith and her witness differently than me but she definitely puts it all out there for the world to see!

As a fellow homeschooling mom, I am encouraged by her stories of rushing around the take kids to activities outside the home, struggling to find time in her busy schedule to write and dealing with deadlines on a mom schedule. Other home-schooling moms know exactly what I mean. Moms have to be extremely flexible and home-schooling moms – even more so! Things can and will get crazy!

Tricia’s story tells me something else too –  I am doing something right! I’m also a single mom, so I worry a lot about not doing enough about this or that but Tricia’s encouragement makes me feel like everything just might be OK after all.

I am also a struggling writer, but I’m inspired by Tricia’s journey through writing and publishing. It gives me hope for my own future and it also gives me the strength to not give up!

I whole-heartedly recommend this book to anyone who is a struggling writer, a work-at-home mom, a home-schooler, new to Christian faith, or someone who is just interested in Tricia Goyer’s life! It’s a great read – no matter your reasoning! Reading about Tricia’s experience with homeschool, faith, writing, family life and social media is well worth it! And it really helps to see how she has managed to weave each one into her everyday life without de-railing everything else.

It’s just a terrific tool for moms – whether they homeschool and work-at-home or not.

I hope you read it and I really hope you enjoy it!

P.S. It’s available HERE on Amazon. For now, at least, it’s only available as an E-book.

GOD BLESS!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

Categories: Blogging, Children, Homeschool, parenting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What's your opinion?

Blog at WordPress.com.

JosephineAnneWrites.com

Little Gems of Inspiration

pageburnersdotcom.wordpress.com/

find your next YA read

Great Lakes Book Bash

"Readers are our Rock Stars"

Hope Ann

Writing in the light

Ladies in Defiance

Never give in...Never back down...Never lose faith.

Naomi Miller

Family Friendly Fiction Full of Grace, Forgiveness and Faith

Nanotoons

A Daily WebComic about NaNoWriMo

hippodilly circus

We Speak To (Not At) the Teens...

D'S QUILTS & BOOKS

Book Reviews

Ashley Bogner

Reader. Writer. Believer.

Amish America

Exploring Amish Culture and Communities

Windy Gap Wishes

A Look at the Amish of Windy Gap through the eyes of an English orphan

A Way With Words

A person who can write a long letter with ease, cannot write ill. Jane Austen

Pipes and Sophisticated Furniture

Mention the Cello. Do it.

Crooks For A Day - Blog

Yes! God has a plan for you!

Lydia Thomas, Author

from poisoned to redeemed

The Simmering Mind

Stories that Sever the Shadows

Venturing to Other Worlds

The Official Website of Angie Brashear

Amy Brandes Speaker & Writer

DEW LIFE... And DO It Well.

Ashley Townsend

I just want to write all day in Neverland

Penprints

God. Life. Writing. Reading.

Inspirational Authors

With God, ALL things are possible!

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

Iola's Christian Reads

Yes! God has a plan for you!

The Mary Reader

Yes! God has a plan for you!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Rachel L. Miller

Inspirational Fiction Straight From Heaven

A Sparrow Reads

Home of Grace Thorson

Onto Her Bookshelf

"The world was hers for the reading." ~ Betty Smith

Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers

Yes! God has a plan for you!

Home's Cool!

Don't Just wish about it! Go home!

confessions of an imperfect homeschooler

imperfectly perfect and loving it

dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Dayo Benson

Amazon Bestselling Author

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

Striving For Purity

"Be generous, kind and noble to your children and make their habits and manners good and beautiful"

At The Well

me...unfiltered

Our Simple Kinda Life

The True Adventures of a God-Loving, Spirit-Led Homeschooling Family

Home School On A Dime

Homemaking, Homeschooling, & Christian Living. One Dime At A Time

LIGHT ON A HILL

Lost in His love through homeschooling and art!

